Tranquility Trail Animal Sanctuary

Dedicated to the compassionate care of companion animals
Tranquility Trail Animal Sanctuary

Dedicated to the compassionate care of companion animals
 

Animal Advocacy

March 22rd, 2014

We have been notified that ShapeUp USA is hosting a carnival at WestWorld of Scottsdale, March 29 – 30, 2014. During this carnival they will be giving away live bunnies as prizes. They promoted that aspect of their event on the local news this morning. Please contact ShapeUp USA to ask they stop this inhumane practice. Please also contact the City of Scottsdale officials to ask them to stop this cruelty and to pass an ordinance prohibiting this from happening in the future. Please contact the venue, WestWorld, to ask them to prohibit this activity at the carnival. Please contact the sponsors to let them know this is going on and ask them to stop this activity (many may not know this will be happening). We know it is an emotional issue for those who care about stopping this inhumane practice but please keep your communication professional as it will be taken more seriously. Thank you for being a voice to stop this cruelty and inhumane activity that leads to the death of and abandonment of many innocent bunnies. Here is the contact information:

ShapeUp USA
Steinback, Executive Director of Shape Up US
Jyl@ShapeUpUS.org
Phone: 602-996-6300
https://www.facebook.com/ShapeUpUS
https://twitter.com/ShapeUpUS

City of Scottsdale Event Staff
Rick Kidder President & CEO (480)355-2709 rkidder@scottsdalechamber.com
Nikki Hoffman Manager of Programs & Connectivity Connectivity Events and Educational Programs nhoffman@scottsdalechamber.com
Anna Mineer Manager of Member Opportunities and Events Signature Events, Sponsorships amineer@scottsdalechamber.com

City of Scottsdale Officials
Mayor W.J. "Jim" Lane jlane@scottsdaleaz.gov
Councilwoman Suzanne Klapp sklapp@scottsdaleaz.gov
Vice Mayor Virginia Korte vkorte@scottsdaleaz.gov
Councilman Robert Littlefield rlittlefield@scottsdaleaz.gov
Councilwoman Linda Milhaven lmilhaven@scottsdaleaz.gov
Councilman Guy Phillips gphillips@scottsdaleaz.gov
Councilman Dennis Robbins drobbins@scottsdaleaz.gov
Mayor Jim Lane:
(480) 312-2433
(480) 312-2738 (fax)
Scottsdale Council Members:
(480) 312-2550
(480) 312-7885 (fax)

WestWorld of Scottsdale
Manager
480-312-6825 or bdygert@scottsdaleaz.gov
EJ Jones, Director
480-312-6831 or ejones@scottsdaleaz.gov
Gloria Storms Ruiz, Business Manager
480-312-6807 or gstormsruiz@scottsdaleaz.gov
Patricia Chapman, Event Booking & Contract Coordinator
480-312-6806 or pchapman@scottsdaleaz.gov
Jennifer Bowley, Management Analyst
480-312-6805 or jbowley@scottsdaleaz.gov

Sponsors of the event:
Scottsdale Living (Magazine)
Wells Fargo
ABC 15
Mega 104.3
101.1 The Beat
KFNX 1100
Green Living (Magazine)
Phoenix Coyotes
AZ Diamondbacks
12 k's of Christmas
Firestone
Miss AZ Festival
North Scottsdale Chamber of Commerce
Scottsdale Community College




02/14/14
Please contact the Judiciary Committee on Supporting Bill HB2020- Live Animal Prize Ban. See information below:

Please contact ALL of the below Judiciary Committee members and ask them to SUPPORT and HEAR HB2020-live animal prizes prohibited. Please keep your communication professional and brief. Focus on the issues. Some of the issues are the financial burden placed on Arizona shelters and on Arizona taxpayers due to animals being abandoned after an impulsive decision, encouraging animals to be seen as disposable novelties, rabbits are the 3rd most surrendered animal in the shelter system and are one of the most often used as prizes in carnival games, people bringing animals home without any preparation or education on care, animal neglect, abandonment and death after novelty wears off, etc.

If you have a personal experience at a carnival giving away animals as prizes, share it. Keep brief as possible. The following are the Judiciary Committee members who have the power to hear or kill the bill. Please contact each of them as soon as possible. The deadline for bills to be heard is almost over.

Eddie Farnsworth - efarnsworth@azleg.gov Phone: 602-926-5735
John Allen - jallen@azleg.gov Phone: 602-926-4916
Lupe Contreras - lcontreras@azleg.gov Phone: 602-926-5284
Doris Goodale - dgoodale@azleg.gov Phone: 602-926-5408
Albert Hale - ahale@azleg.gov Phone: 602-926-4323
Ethan Orr - eorr@azleg.gov Phone: 602-926-3235
Martin Quezada - mquezada@azleg.gov Phone: 602-926-5911
Justin Pierce - jpierce@azleg.gov Phone: 602-926-5495

Thank you for being a voice for the bunnies! Please share! The more people who voice their support, the better the chances the bill will be heard in committee, at which time we will send a representative to be heard on the subject. Thank you so much!






Live Animals Given Away As Prizes By Local Carnival Company


Please help stop Frazier Shows from giving away live animals, including baby bunnies, birds and turtles as prizes in their carnival games. Frazier Carnivals is a Scottsdale, AZ based company that produces carnivals throughout the US. Part of their services includes carnival games, like the picture ring toss, in which live animals are the prizes. Get a ring on the rubber a duck, you win a baby bunny. We are asking they immediately cease the inhumane and cruel practice of giving live animals as prizes.

Earlier in May 2012 Frazier Shows was illegally offering baby bunnies as prizes at a Sante Fe, NM Carnival. See news story here: http://www.koat.com/SF-carnival-gave-away-animals-as-prizes/-/9154444/12533932/-/11ot3nlz/-/index.html

Please contact Frazier Shows to express your concerns:

Frazier Shows
PO Box 5865
Scottsdale, AZ 85261
Phone: (602)684-0632
web: http://www.fraziershows.com

President/General Manager of Frazier Shows, Steve Broetsky: sbroetsky@aol.com





 
Website Builder